New York Cares Day 2013 Hattie Carthan Garden

Hattie Carthan Garden

Hattie Carthan Garden

On April 20th, 2013 I participated with my school in my first ever New York Cares Day. In case you are not already aware, New York Cares Day is New York City’s largest hands-on volunteer day, joining thousands of volunteers in the Fall to paint a brighter future for New York City public school students and in the Spring to clean up parks, community gardens, and public spaces throughout the city.

Fellow volunteer and I restoring benches

Fellow volunteer and I restoring benches

This year we traveled to Bedford-Stuyvesant to help clean up Hattie Carthan Garden. We were so warmly welcomed on our arrival, and it was evident that they were happy and grateful to have us. It was a very productive and rewarding day. Together we cleared garbage and weeds, cleaned up chicken coops, helped with composting, refurbished tables, restored a green house, painted benches, created pathways, and other urban agricultural work. It was such a great experience. Many of us strangers at first, but we all worked great together as a one team and left feeling reconnected with nature and with a sense of responsibility in taking care of it. At the end of the day, I could not help but feel extremely proud of what we all achieved that day. I am so glad that I took part in this event, and it is something that I plan on taking part in for years to come.

Fellow volunteers and I creating a pathway for the garden

Fellow volunteers and I creating a pathway for the garden

For more information on how you can make a difference and help serve New York City, please visit http://www.newyorkcares.org

Leave a Reply

